STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more
STUMP - Death and Taxes
Movember 2023 Wrap-up: Thanks, Caritas, and Encouragement
0:00
-39:04

Movember 2023 Wrap-up: Thanks, Caritas, and Encouragement

Transcript

No transcript...

In which I thank all the 2023 Movember donors, and I encourage spreading the love.

Episode links

Movember 2023

Here are the places you can donate to the Movember Foundation, which supports men’s health, specifically focusing on prostate cancer, testicular cancer, and men’s mental health:

And here’s a QR code if that works better for you:

Literary References

Dante: Building a Modern Hell - something I wrote in 1995, re: Niven & Pournelle’s Inferno vs. Dante’s

The Ascent of the Mountain of Purgatory, William Blake

Mrs. Jellyby - Mrs. Jellyby and the Domination of Causes, essay by Jim Forest

While few in the peace movement so radically neglect those in their care, unfortunately I cannot think of Mrs. Jellyby merely as a gross caricature. When my wife and I talked about her recently, we could think of several people, of both sexes, resembling her in many details: people with a certain legitimate concerns and noble goals who engage themselves so fully that their fixation wrecks havoc in the lives of those around them, driving many people they intended to influence, even their own sons and daughters, in the opposite direction.

Milton, On His Blindness

When I consider how my light is spent,

   Ere half my days, in this dark world and wide,

   And that one Talent which is death to hide

   Lodged with me useless, though my Soul more bent

To serve therewith my Maker, and present

   My true account, lest he returning chide;

   “Doth God exact day-labour, light denied?”

   I fondly ask. But patience, to prevent

That murmur, soon replies, “God doth not need

   Either man’s work or his own gifts; who best

   Bear his mild yoke, they serve him best. His state

Is Kingly. Thousands at his bidding speed

   And post o’er Land and Ocean without rest:

   They also serve who only stand and wait.”

Works of Mercy

Corporal Works of Mercy - examples from the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops

  • Feed the hungry

  • Give drink to the thirsty

  • Shelter the homeless

  • Visit the sick

  • Visit prisoners and ransom the hostage

  • Bury the dead

  • Give alms to the poor

Spiritual Works of Mercy

  • Instructing the ignorant

  • Counseling the doubtful

  • Admonishing the sinner

  • Comforting the sorrowful

  • Forgiving injuries

  • Bearing wrongs patiently

  • Praying for the living and the dead

Educational charities I support

BEAM — Bridge to Enter Advanced Math

My post on BEAM:

Donors Choose: I often find small projects in local communities to support here

Once I bought ALL of the Dr. Seuss books for kids to populate a classroom.

I often pick special needs classrooms in New York.

Learning Ally: I used to record math and computer science textbooks for them when I worked in NYC.

STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more
STUMP - Death and Taxes
Meep (Mary Pat Campbell) talks about mortality trends and/or public finance issues, usually with a connection to current events.