STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more
STUMP - Death and Taxes
Happy New Year from STUMP! Two Ideas...
0:00
-17:55

Happy New Year from STUMP! Two Ideas...

They're the same two ideas I've had for years

I have two ideas for 2023: learn more (and fail more); get more sleep! I’m always doing the first and never tie it to the new year — I’m always failing at the second (what can I say). I did sleep most of New Years’ Day 2023 away, so at least I have that going for me….

STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


Episode Links

Mike Shedlock at Mish Talk:

Here's My Number One Investment Idea For 2023

But if all you are doing is seeking out your own opinion, stop seeking, you already have it. 

Entertain the other side. If you have grudges, they won't do you any good, so let them go. 

Invest in life. 

Happy New Year.

Some places in which you can learn (for free!)

Duolingo - good for practicing foreign language skills, but not great for learning grammar, etc.

Khan Academy - one of the best place to brush up on rusty math skills. It helps you fill in the holes you may have, and go at your own pace. There are things other than math there, too, but I have found that stuff to be less reliable.

My livejournal posts:

January 2007: Charles Murray response: teaching wisdom

It's hard to learn humility when you're constantly lauded as the best. It's hard to learn that hard work is needed when everything is easy for you. It's hard to give others their proper respect when others are always praising your results more than others.

So, in short, all kids need to have their asses kicked, but the intellectually gifted are least likely to have that done. So we've got to make sure they get what's coming to them, too.

I call this plan the No Child's Ass Left Unkicked plan.

February 2016: I found my patron saint....kinda

We will lie down for such a long time after death that it is worth while to keep standing while we are alive. Let us work now; one day we will rest.

Facebook post:

I realized I didn’t mention my now-12-year chronic nerve pain problem that has been getting worse and of course, Stu’s metastatic cancer. And there are things w/ the kids, but that’s not for me to tell, other than my youngest, Diarmuid, is autistic.

So yes, I am referring to lots of things happening within, not just the external world.

Best Advice from my Dad: Be a Good Animal

Stuart Grace (my husband)
Our son Diarmuid having fun in the snow, ~2015

After one particularly bad spate of being a hobbit in my cozy hobbithole, eating my junk food, and consuming a bunch of books, my dad (who had similar proclivities) gave me this advice:

Be a Good Animal.

This advice was about taking care of the physical side of yourself - eat well, get out in the sun, get enough sleep, if you're exhausted - nap! And realize when you've hit your limit.

….

It helps to step back - from advice on how to succeed in business, catch an opportunity, build a career - and remember that the main point is to have a life.

My #BestAdvice from my dad has helped me with just that.

Go and Be a Good Animal.

STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
STUMP - Meep on public finance, pensions, mortality and more
STUMP - Death and Taxes
Meep (Mary Pat Campbell) talks about mortality trends and/or public finance issues, usually with a connection to current events.